Crochetville's 2014 Best of Crochet Awards

Now accepting nominations for Crochetville's 2014 Best of Crochet Awards through September 30, 2014.
Click here to submit your nominations.

Photo

How much yarn do I need?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 ratdog

ratdog
  • Villager
  • 3,149 posts

• Joined 14-October 08

Posted 30 October 2008 - 11:19 AM

Hi! I am thinking about making an afghan for a gift. The recipient is a big guy! I would like to make a 'ripple' (which I have never tried before) and would need to make a larger than standard afghan (about 78" long/ 60" wide)

Most patterns I have sen are for "throws" or Lapghans.

Any ideas for patterns and yarn quantity? I am thinking about Vanna's Choice or Thick and Quick.

#2 debra way

debra way
  • Villager
  • 829 posts

• Joined 02-March 08

Posted 30 October 2008 - 01:45 PM

Hello ratdog,

I am no expert, but I found a pattern for a easy ripple (think it's called beginners ripple) on line somewhere. Maybe at Bev's crochet cottage. What I would do is maybe double it or at least increase the width by half, and the same with the length. Ripples might be hard to double the pattern with. If I were doing this, I would get the patter for a 5 &1/2 hour afghan, and double it. It's a simple pattern, and would be easy to increase in size.Vanna's choice is nice, I am not familiar with Thick and quick.

Good luck, hope this helped some!

Debra
Debra
Ask me about Scentsy!

#3 acraftylady

acraftylady
  • Villager
  • 3,603 posts

• Joined 03-September 06

Posted 30 October 2008 - 04:54 PM

I love the quickie ripple, works up very fast and is an easy goof proof pttern. Just chain longer for what you need and you can remove any unsed chains when you get to the end. Then just keep going until it's as long as you want. If you start this and need help just PM me. Mary

#4 marikamum

marikamum
  • Villager
  • 1,573 posts

• Joined 24-January 08

Posted 30 October 2008 - 05:14 PM