Jump to content


Live Chat with Tammy Hildebrand, Wed, July 23, 3:00 PM EDT

Click here for all the details!

Photo

Looking For Texas Longhorn Pattern


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 mrsstormmyrain

mrsstormmyrain
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 13 posts

  • Joined 19-January 07
    • Location: texas

Posted 19 January 2007 - 09:42 AM

Hi i am looking for a pattern to crochet the Texas Longhorns.....Can someone help me find it......I know it was in a graphic type thing.........I have gotten all the yarn for it and I am going to make this for my hubby.....

TIA

~*~Tammy In TX~*~
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/mrsstormmyrain
Stuff by Shorty: http://stuffbyshorty.blogspot.com/
Photos Of Love http://photosoflove.blogspot.com/

#2 misssmaggie

misssmaggie
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 19,347 posts

  • Joined 06-May 06
    • Location: Stoneboro, PA

Posted 20 January 2007 - 04:53 AM

I use...
http://www.microrevolt.org/knitPro/

to make charts from my pictures.

Here is a place to find the team logos...they also give a history and pictures of past and present team logos. This is where I found the Steeler logo I used for the chart to make my Steeler afghan...
http://www.sportslogos.net/index.php


This will take you to the Texas Longhorns...
http://www.sportslog.../team.php?t=865

#3 IWANTSMORE

IWANTSMORE
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 175 posts

  • Joined 05-December 06
    • Location: Shelby, OH

Posted 20 January 2007 - 05:42 AM

Here is a chart for plastic canvas. It looks like an easy chart to convert to sc squares.

http://www.mountainh...aslonghorns.jpg


Other college teams
http://www.mountainh...tm#collegeindex

#4 mrsstormmyrain

mrsstormmyrain
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 13 posts

  • Joined 19-January 07
    • Location: texas

Posted 20 January 2007 - 12:43 PM

Thanks for you help.....now here is another question i have never done this using a graph.....is each square a "SC"??

Has anyone done this befor??

#5 misssmaggie

misssmaggie
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 19,347 posts

  • Joined 06-May 06
    • Location: Stoneboro, PA

Posted 20 January 2007 - 03:08 PM

I did mine all in sc...yes.

#6 mrsstormmyrain

mrsstormmyrain
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 13 posts

  • Joined 19-January 07
    • Location: texas

Posted 20 January 2007 - 05:38 PM

Thanks.....that what i thouht....each square would be a SC right??

If it says 160 that how many SC i would start with right??

How would i know what was the roll or the startting chain??

#7 misssmaggie

misssmaggie
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 19,347 posts

  • Joined 06-May 06
    • Location: Stoneboro, PA

Posted 21 January 2007 - 04:02 AM

If it says 160 sc...then you would ch 161.

When you are doing a project in sc...your foundation row will be one more ch than the number of sc stitches of row 1.

Row 1 will begin with a sc in the 2nd ch from your hook.

Does this make sense?

#8 mrsstormmyrain

mrsstormmyrain
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 13 posts

  • Joined 19-January 07
    • Location: texas

Posted 21 January 2007 - 07:50 AM

One more Question and i will not ask any more......lol.....

Is the Height or width the starting point??

#9 misssmaggie

misssmaggie
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 19,347 posts

  • Joined 06-May 06
    • Location: Stoneboro, PA

Posted 21 January 2007 - 09:22 AM

You work it with the width...back and forth...as normal working each row from right to left...AND...you are working from the bottom to the top...when I did mine...I did each row twice.

What I am saying...and I hope I explain this right...when I got into the area with the logo..say it started at row 50 and I had 30 sc per row...
let's say it goes 5 sc in black...10 sc in red...5 sc in blue...10 in black.
See how I did row 50 and 51 the same...
then I will do rows 52 and 53 the same...
say they are 7 sc in black...7 sc in red...7 sc in blue...9 sc in black.

row 53 xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
row 52 xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
row 51 xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
row 50 xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Does it make sense to you? I did each row twice like that for two reasons...one...I needed to get more length to my afghan...and two...I liked the look of a more bold design.

Any more questions...just ask...

#10 mrsstormmyrain

mrsstormmyrain
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 13 posts

  • Joined 19-January 07
    • Location: texas

Posted 22 January 2007 - 12:28 PM

Thank Maggie......

Wont adding two lines of the same mess up the picture??

#11 CrochetinClara

CrochetinClara
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 1,178 posts

  • Joined 02-May 05
    • Location: Altoona, PA

Posted 22 January 2007 - 12:57 PM

I did like Maggie, repeat the row. It added length to the afghan.
Happy Crocheting!


#12 misssmaggie

misssmaggie
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 19,347 posts

  • Joined 06-May 06
    • Location: Stoneboro, PA

Posted 23 January 2007 - 04:01 AM

I don't think so...my Steeler afghan is just about finished :clap and it looks fine...I will post a picture either later today or tomorrow.

#13 mrsstormmyrain

mrsstormmyrain
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 13 posts

  • Joined 19-January 07
    • Location: texas

Posted 23 January 2007 - 08:40 AM

that could be cool......Hubby don't think i can do it or that it will look good....lol.....

#14 mrsstormmyrain

mrsstormmyrain
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 13 posts

  • Joined 19-January 07
    • Location: texas

Posted 28 January 2007 - 09:38 AM

one more question.....

When you are crocheting it how do you count the little sqaures......do you do one row then stop and count again and then keep going........I am having a hard time getting the squares counted.......

Thanks for all the help