• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 ArtMama

ArtMama
  • Villager
  • 140 posts

• Joined 25-April 12

Posted 28 April 2012 - 05:01 PM

I've been crocheting for a few day, now. I'll admit, I've been enjoying it maybe too much. I was able to get about 5 hours in today alone. I'd still be going, but my bicept, deltoid a forarm are in pain. Bad pain. I have fibromyalgia & arthritis, but it rarely afects my arms. The fibro affects my arms sometimes, but the arthritis is only in my neck & feet.

I know there are a ton of hook varieties, but i'm hoping other FM sufferers can offer suggestions on what works for them.

I'm also a pencil artist. Sometimes my hand cramps, & my heated drawing board helps me with that...so I may just get a heating pad for my arm.

I really like crocheting a lot. It's emotionally therapeutic, i just need it to be physically painless.

Edited by ArtMama, 28 April 2012 - 05:02 PM.
Yryimg to find typos

#2 DebraKay

DebraKay
  • Villager
  • 2,319 posts

• Joined 23-February 10

Posted 28 April 2012 - 05:08 PM

It may be coming from your neck. Mine does -- it follows a nerve to my left shoulder, down the arm and across the forearm and into my hand. Very painful. This nerve pain caused muscle spasms that pinched other nerves and wound up requiring surgery on my elbow (I had already had surgery on my neck) as the nerve was being mangled by muscle spasms and actually atrophied my hand! I have dented in places where there should be muscle in my hand now, even after the surgery. Doc said that will never come back, so it left me with a very weak hand. I'm telling you this, not to frighten but to warn you -- when it hurts -- listen to your body. STOP for a while and rest it. Also ensure you are not bending your neck for too long a time. That will cause problems that just domino right down your arm! Yours might not be coming from the neck but since you mentioned having neck problems it was my first thought.