Jump to content


Photo

sc in next ch-1 sp


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 ZamilahRaks

ZamilahRaks
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 11 posts

  • Joined 04-March 10
    • Location: NC

Posted 06 March 2010 - 12:24 AM

What exactly does this mean? The -1 is throwing me off... I'm starting a new row, so there's no way I could "back up" a space. :think

Thanks!

#2 tiffer93

tiffer93
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 4,908 posts

  • Joined 17-February 08
    • Location: Brandenburg, Kentucky

Posted 06 March 2010 - 12:30 AM

What does the first line of the pattern say exactly?

*~* Tiffany *~*

*~* Treasures & Trinkets by Tiffany *~*

*~* Facebook & Ravelry as tiffer93 *~*

*~* 2014 Hostess: Favorite Color,Stitch Marker *~*

*~* Proud Bag Lady #75 ~ 'Diamond Bright' June 2012 *~*


#3 Graceylue

Graceylue
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 279 posts

  • Joined 10-December 08

Posted 06 March 2010 - 01:31 AM

I think you're supposed to do a sc in the next space from where you chained one in the previous row, in next chain one not minus one.
Stashbuster CAL-WTD 0 YTD 0 GOAL- +1 or more
WIP Buster CAL- WTD 0 YTD 0 GOAL- +3 or more
WIPs-Five foot by six foot double strand single crochet afghan of death and insanity, Jackson Square Afghan, crochet butterflies, 82 inch wide double strand hdc afghan, Irish Hiking Scarf (knit) .

wish list
http://www.crochetvi...39&postcount=11

#4 carovan

carovan
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 2,921 posts

  • Joined 27-January 07
    • Location: Florida

Posted 06 March 2010 - 05:48 AM

On the previous row you did something like a (sc, ch 1, sc in next.....) Anyway, the ch 1 in that line will now be referred to as a ch-1 in future references to that space, in this instance it wants you to to do a sc in that ch-1 sp from the previous row. :0)
____________

Carolyn

#5 ZamilahRaks

ZamilahRaks
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 11 posts

  • Joined 04-March 10
    • Location: NC

Posted 06 March 2010 - 09:23 AM

The previous row was three DC's, ch1, skip a chain and ended with a DC in last sc. Then on the next row the instructions say:

Row 3: ch 1, turn; sc in 1
st ch-1 sp; *ch 6, sc in next ch-1 sp; repeat from * across. 24 (1X) ch-6 sp

So I should just chain one, turn it, and chain one in the next chain? That next stich is VERY loose, by the way... Chaining 6 on it is going to be weird... Wondering if I should just re-do the 3rd DC & start over from there.

Thanks ladies!!! Sorry for the dumb questions.:blush


#6 DebraKay

DebraKay
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 2,319 posts

  • Joined 23-February 10
    • Location: NW Florida

Posted 06 March 2010 - 09:25 AM

I am thinking ch1 and ch-1 are the same, just written differently. Maybe a typo that wasn't caught because the proof-reader read them as the same.

#7 ZamilahRaks

ZamilahRaks
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 11 posts

  • Joined 04-March 10
    • Location: NC

Posted 06 March 2010 - 03:49 PM

Okay makes sense... I've been SO busy today that I haven't been able to pick up my project yet. Getting ready to FINALLY start it up again. I'll assume it's a typo & run with it.

#8 magiccrochetfan

magiccrochetfan
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 8,396 posts

  • Joined 17-January 07
    • Location: Callaway County, Missouri

Posted 06 March 2010 - 04:12 PM

i don't think it is really a typo, it is a hyphen i think, and ch-1 and ch1 mean the same thing.
--Kathy
I'm Kaycrochet on Ravelry.
It's official--I cannot type the word "stitch", it always comes out "sttich".
Callaway Stitchers crochet, knit, tat, sew, any fiber art! get-together at the Fulton MO public library Mondays at 5 p.m. Would love to have Villers join us! For more info, send me a PM.

"Advice to new crocheters on choosing a pattern" http://www.crochetvi...ad.php?t=107078

#9 ZamilahRaks

ZamilahRaks
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 11 posts

  • Joined 04-March 10
    • Location: NC

Posted 06 March 2010 - 04:37 PM

Yep. It worked, and it looks fine. :clap Thanks so much!

#10 Karen crocheter

Karen crocheter
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 10 posts

  • Joined 11-March 07

Posted 06 March 2010 - 10:35 PM

I have a question about this too. I understand the ch-1 sp instruction, but what I want to know is: on row 2, when I'm getting ready to "dc in next ch-1 sp", I yarn over, then do I insert my hook in the top loops of the chain, or do I insert my hook in the "hole" left by skipping a ch in row 1? Does that make any sense? If not, I can add some pictures tomorrow. Thanks!

#11 magiccrochetfan

magiccrochetfan
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 8,396 posts

  • Joined 17-January 07
    • Location: Callaway County, Missouri

Posted 06 March 2010 - 11:16 PM

insert your hook into the hole.
--Kathy
I'm Kaycrochet on Ravelry.
It's official--I cannot type the word "stitch", it always comes out "sttich".
Callaway Stitchers crochet, knit, tat, sew, any fiber art! get-together at the Fulton MO public library Mondays at 5 p.m. Would love to have Villers join us! For more info, send me a PM.

"Advice to new crocheters on choosing a pattern" http://www.crochetvi...ad.php?t=107078

#12 Graceylue

Graceylue
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 279 posts

  • Joined 10-December 08

Posted 06 March 2010 - 11:35 PM

Chain one space, not chain one, pretty sure that means the hole.
Stashbuster CAL-WTD 0 YTD 0 GOAL- +1 or more
WIP Buster CAL- WTD 0 YTD 0 GOAL- +3 or more
WIPs-Five foot by six foot double strand single crochet afghan of death and insanity, Jackson Square Afghan, crochet butterflies, 82 inch wide double strand hdc afghan, Irish Hiking Scarf (knit) .

wish list
http://www.crochetvi...39&postcount=11

#13 sarisue

sarisue
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 1,274 posts

  • Joined 20-January 07
    • Location: Citrus County FL

Posted 07 March 2010 - 06:05 AM

Here's some information

crochet in ch 1 sp

#14 Flia

Flia
  • Offline
  • Villager
  • 768 posts

  • Joined 02-January 08
    • Location: Sweden (Europe)

Posted 08 March 2010 - 05:47 AM

I have a question about this too. I understand the ch-1 sp instruction, but what I want to know is: on row 2, when I'm getting ready to "dc in next ch-1 sp", I yarn over, then do I insert my hook in the top loops of the chain, or do I insert my hook in the "hole" left by skipping a ch in row 1? Does that make any sense? If not, I can add some pictures tomorrow. Thanks!


The sp means whatever space (in this case the ch-1) there is.
So the hole is where you insert the hook.